Summerset Built-In Grills Buying Guide: Sizzler vs Sizzler Pro vs TRL Pro
Summerset builds its current built-in gas grills in three tiers, and the step between them is not the one most shoppers expect. Moving from the Sizzler to the Sizzler Pro buys you features — a 15,000 BTU infrared rear burner, halogen interior lights, illuminated controls and heat zone separators — but the steel stays the same #443. Moving from the Sizzler Pro to the TRL Pro is where the metallurgy changes: #304 stainless construction, cast stainless U-tube burners rated 20,000 BTU each, 8mm square grates, and the rotisserie kit in the box.
If you take one thing from this guide, take that: Sizzler → Sizzler Pro is a features upgrade. Sizzler Pro → TRL Pro is a materials upgrade. Which one matters more depends almost entirely on how close you live to salt water and whether you cook on a rotisserie.
What are the differences between the Summerset Sizzler, Sizzler Pro and TRL Pro?
Every row below differs between at least two of the three series. The warranty is deliberately left out of this table, because it is identical across all three — more on that further down.
| Sizzler | Sizzler Pro | TRL Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built-in sizes | 25", 32", 40" | 32", 40" | 32", 40" |
| Body construction | #443 stainless | #443 stainless | #304 stainless |
| Main burners | #304 stainless tube | #202 cast stainless | Cast stainless U-tube |
| BTU per main burner | 12,000 | 14,000 | 20,000 |
| Over the burners | #443 stainless flame tamers | Easy-clean briquette system | Easy-clean briquette system |
| Cooking grates | 8mm round | 8mm round | 8mm square |
| Infrared rear burner | None, in any size | 15,000 BTU | 15,000 BTU |
| Rotisserie kit | Sold separately | Sold separately | Included (40 lb motor) |
| Heat zone separators | Not offered | Yes | Yes |
| Interior lighting | None | Halogen | Halogen |
| Control panel lighting | None | LED pin lights, white-to-red bezels | LED pin lights, white-to-red bezels |
| Ignition | Piezo + manual flash tube | Piezo + manual flash tube | Flame Thrower + manual flash tube |
| Island cutout height | 8" | 8" | 9-3/8" |
Two rows in that table deserve a second look. The first is the burner alloy. The entry-level Sizzler uses #304 stainless tube burners and the mid-tier Sizzler Pro switches to #202 cast stainless — so if burner alloy specifically is what you care about, the Sizzler Pro is not an upgrade over the Sizzler on that one measure. For the TRL Pro, Summerset is not consistent: its spec table lists a cast stainless burner with no grade, while marketing copy on the same page says #304. We will not publish a grade Summerset contradicts itself on, so treat the TRL Pro burner as cast stainless U-tube at 20,000 BTU and call us if the alloy is decisive for you.
The second is the cutout height. Sizzler and Sizzler Pro both need an 8" opening; the TRL Pro needs 9-3/8". That inch and change means a TRL Pro is not a drop-in replacement for a Sizzler in an existing island, even at the same nominal width.
Summerset built-in grills: every model, size by size
| Model | Burners | Total output | Total cooking area | Island cutout (W × D × H) | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sizzler 25" (SZR25) | 3 × 12,000 | 36,000 BTU | 524 sq in (400 main + 125 rack) | 23-1/4" × 20-3/4" × 8" | $1,699 |
| Sizzler 32" (SZR32) | 4 × 12,000 | 48,000 BTU | 697 sq in (533 main + 164 rack) | 30-5/8" × 20-3/4" × 8" | $1,899 |
| Sizzler 40" (SZR40) | 5 × 12,000 | 60,000 BTU | 868 sq in (666 main + 202 rack) | 37-3/4" × 20-3/4" × 8" | $2,499 |
| Sizzler Pro 32" (SZRPRO32) | 4 × 14,000 + rear | 71,000 BTU (56,000 + 15,000 rear) | 697 sq in (533 main + 164 rack) | 30-5/8" × 20-3/4" × 8" | $2,799 |
| Sizzler Pro 40" (SZRPRO40) | 5 × 14,000 + rear | 85,000 BTU (70,000 + 15,000 rear) | 868 sq in | 37-3/4" × 20-3/4" × 8" | $3,199 |
| TRL Pro 32" (TRLPRO32) | 3 × 20,000 + rear | 75,000 BTU (60,000 + 15,000 rear) | 692 sq in (535 main + 157 rack) | 30-1/2" × 20-3/4" × 9-3/8" | $3,199 |
| TRL Pro 40" (TRLPRO40) | 4 × 20,000 + rear | 95,000 BTU (80,000 + 15,000 rear) | 877 sq in | 38-1/2" × 20-3/4" × 9-3/8" | $3,699 |
| Resort 30" (SBG30) | 2 main + rotisserie burner | Not published by Summerset | Not published by Summerset | 28-1/2" × 23-1/4" × 10-1/4" | $3,199 |
The most revealing comparison in that table is the 32" row. A Sizzler Pro 32 and a TRL Pro 32 have almost exactly the same total cooking area — 697 versus 692 square inches. The TRL Pro actually has fewer burners, three instead of four. What it has instead is 20,000 BTU per burner rather than 14,000, which is why its total output is higher despite the lower burner count. You are not buying more space when you move to the TRL Pro. You are buying more heat per burner, better steel and heavier grates in the same footprint.
Sizzler vs Sizzler Pro: what do you actually gain?
At 32" the step is $900 ($1,899 to $2,799); at 40" it is $700. For that you get five specific things:
- A 15,000 BTU infrared rear burner. No Sizzler has one in any size, so this is the single biggest functional change — it is what makes rotisserie cooking work properly.
- 14,000 BTU per burner instead of 12,000, which lifts a 32" from 48,000 to 56,000 BTU across the main burners.
- Halogen interior lighting, which the Sizzler does not have at all.
- Illuminated controls — LED pin lights with bezels that change from white to red to show which burners are lit.
- Heat zone separators, so you can run genuinely different temperatures side by side.
What does not change: the body is #443 stainless on both, the hood is the same 16-gauge double-lined #443, the grates are the same 8mm round, the ignition is the same piezo system, the cooking area is identical, and the island cutout is identical. A Sizzler Pro drops straight into a hole cut for a Sizzler of the same size.
Sizzler Pro vs TRL Pro: what do you gain?
At 32" this step is only $400 ($2,799 to $3,199), and at 40" it is $500 — noticeably cheaper than the Sizzler-to-Pro step below it. What it buys is construction rather than features, because the Sizzler Pro already has the lights, the rear burner and the heat zones:
- #304 stainless body in place of #443. This is the headline change and the reason to consider the TRL Pro.
- Cast stainless U-tube burners at 20,000 BTU each, replacing the Sizzler Pro’s #202 cast burners at 14,000 BTU. Summerset does not state the TRL Pro burner alloy consistently — its spec table says “cast stainless” with no grade while its marketing copy says #304 — so we do not publish a grade for it.
- 8mm square grates rather than 8mm round — more contact area against the food, and better sear marks.
- Flame Thrower ignition in place of the piezo system.
- The rotisserie kit included, with a 40 lb motor, instead of being a separate purchase.
The trade-offs are real and worth knowing before you order. You get fewer burners at the same width (three instead of four at 32", four instead of five at 40"), essentially the same cooking area, and a taller cutout that rules out a straight swap into an existing Sizzler opening.
Does 304 or 443 stainless steel matter for your install?
This is the question the Sizzler-to-TRL-Pro decision is usually sold on, and the published metallurgy does not support the usual framing — including an earlier version of this page, which had it backwards. Per ASTM A240, #443 carries more chromium than #304, not less: 20.0–23.0% against 17.5–19.5%. Chromium is what forms the passive film that resists corrosion. What #304’s nickel buys is the austenitic structure — formability, and better strength at high temperature — not pitting resistance. On the standard pitting index the ferritic grade scores slightly higher, and it resists the chloride stress corrosion cracking that #304 is susceptible to.
Neither grade contains molybdenum, which is the element the published coastal guidance is actually built around; the recommended minimum for coastal service is #316 or equivalent, and neither of these is that. So the honest position is that these two grades are close, and closer than the price gap suggests.
A practical way to read it: do not choose between these on the alloy number alone. The TRL Pro 32 and TRL Pro 40 earn their step up on the things you can see — the square-bar grates, the included rotisserie kit, the rear burner — not on a corrosion advantage the specifications do not show. If your island is within sight of salt water, the variables that measurably change the outcome are surface finish, keeping salt deposits rinsed off, and a cover, and those apply to both grades equally. Our 304 versus 443 stainless steel guide sets out the composition ranges, the arithmetic and what neither manufacturer publishes.
Which Summerset models have a rotisserie or rear burner?
The Sizzler Pro and the TRL Pro, in both sizes, each have a 15,000 BTU infrared rear burner. No Sizzler does, at any size. The TRL Pro includes the rotisserie kit; on the Sizzler Pro it is a separate purchase, and on the Sizzler a rotisserie can be fitted but it will cook over the main burners rather than under radiant rear heat.
Summerset also makes an infrared sear burner (IRB-SZR) that drops in to replace a main burner. Summerset lists it as fitting the Sizzler and Sizzler Pro only. None of these grills has a factory sear burner fitted as standard.
What size Summerset grill do you need?
The Sizzler is the only series that offers a 25" head, which makes it the default choice for compact islands and for a secondary grill. From there, 32" is the family size and 40" is the entertaining size — the jump from 32" to 40" adds about 170 square inches, or roughly a quarter more cooking space, along with one more burner.
Note that the Sizzler and Sizzler Pro share cutouts exactly at each size, so you can decide between those two on features without re-planning the island. The TRL Pro does not share the cutout height. If you are laying out an island from scratch, our built-in grill sizing guide and the cutout dimensions reference will help you fix the opening before anything is cut; if you are replacing a grill in an existing opening, start with the replacement grill finder.
When does a Summerset grill need an insulating liner?
Any time the grill is going into a combustible island — wood or metal framing, or most modular kit islands. Solid masonry generally does not require one. Summerset liners are matched to the series and size, and the Sizzler and TRL Pro liners are not interchangeable even at the same nominal width:
- 25" Sizzler liner (GL-SZR25) — $749
- 32" Sizzler and Sizzler Pro liner (GL-SZR32) — $799
- 40" Sizzler and Sizzler Pro liner (GL-SZR40) — $899
- 32" TRL Pro liner (GL-TRLPRO32) — $799
- 40" TRL Pro liner (GL-TRLPRO40) — $929
- 30" Resort liner (GL-SBG30) — $879
The insulating liner guide explains how to tell which category your island falls into. If the grill will sit under a roof, pergola or any overhead structure, read the outdoor kitchen ventilation guide at the design stage rather than after the island is built.
What does the Summerset warranty cover?
Summerset’s Gold Standard Lifetime Warranty is identical across the Sizzler, Sizzler Pro, TRL Pro and Resort. This is unusual and worth knowing, because warranty coverage is often assumed to be part of what a higher tier buys. With Summerset it is not — a $1,699 Sizzler 25 carries the same terms as a $3,699 TRL Pro 40:
| Coverage | Term |
|---|---|
| Construction and manufacturer defects | Lifetime |
| Stainless steel construction | Lifetime |
| Cooking grates, burners, burner covers, valves, flame tamers, heat zone separators, temperature gauges and hood springs | Lifetime |
| All other parts, components and electrical — LED bulbs, wire harness and switches, power source wire, transformer | 3 years |
Replacement parts are 100% non-prorated. Online registration within 30 days of purchase is required for the warranty to be valid, so do it when the grill arrives rather than later. These are the residential terms; commercial installations carry separate coverage. As an authorized Summerset dealer, Northwoods Grills supplies every grill with the full factory warranty intact.
Where does the Summerset TRL fit in?
If you have been searching for a plain “Summerset TRL”, here is the honest answer: it is no longer a current series. Summerset’s live line-up is Sizzler, Sizzler Pro, TRL Pro, Resort, Quest and Griddle Pro — there is no plain-TRL model, no plain-TRL manual, and the older TRL 38 and TRLD 44 sizes have been discontinued. Where you still see “TRL 32"” listed by a dealer, the model number underneath it is almost always TRLPRO32. The current TRL line is the TRL Pro, in 32" and 40".
What about the Resort 30"?
The Resort 30" sits outside the Sizzler/TRL ladder. It is a 2-burner, #304 stainless grill with red brass U-tube burners and a rotisserie burner, aimed at heavy-use commercial and hospitality settings, and it is the only Summerset grill whose manual carries a Made in USA marking. At $3,199 it prices level with the TRL Pro 32 while offering fewer burners, and it takes a different cutout again (28-1/2" × 23-1/4" × 10-1/4"). Summerset does not currently publish BTU or cooking-area figures for it, so if those numbers matter to your decision, call us and we will get them confirmed rather than guess.
Which Summerset series is right for your outdoor kitchen?
Choose the Sizzler if you want a well-built built-in at the lowest entry point, you grill conventionally, and you do not need a rotisserie. It is also the only way to get a 25" Summerset head. The Sizzler 32 at $1,899 is the value pick of the whole range.
Choose the Sizzler Pro if you want the rear burner and the lighting but your island is inland. It is the biggest single jump in capability in the line-up, and at 40" the Sizzler Pro 40 gives you five burners and 85,000 BTU for $3,199.
Choose the TRL Pro if you are near salt water, if you want the heaviest burners and grates Summerset makes, or if you want the rotisserie included. At 32" it is only $400 more than the Sizzler Pro, which is the best-value step in the range.
Cross-shopping? The Coyote versus Summerset comparison puts the two mid-range lines side by side, and the Coyote C, CL and SL series guide covers that brand’s ladder the same way this one does. You can also browse everything in this price band in our mid-budget built-in grill picks.
Completing the island around a Summerset grill
A cover is the one accessory worth ordering with the grill: 25" ($99), 32" ($109) and 40" ($119) built-in covers, plus one for the Resort 30 ($99). For a burner beside the grill, Summerset offers the SB1 single side burner in 304 stainless ($549), the SSSB1 brass-ring single side burner ($445), the SB2-PRO double side burner ($999) and the PB2-PRO power burner ($1,799) for stock pots and wok work — the side and power burner guide explains where each one earns its place.
On the storage side, the 17" double drawer ($879) is the standard pairing beside a grill, the 20" two-bin trash and recycling drawer ($959) keeps bins out of the cooking zone, and a propane build needs the 20" propane tank and storage drawer ($769). The full grill drawer range covers the other brands.
Prefer not to build in? Every Summerset head above is also sold on a deluxe cart — see the Summerset freestanding cart grills.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Summerset TRL Pro a drop-in replacement for a Sizzler?
No. The Sizzler and Sizzler Pro both use an 8" tall island cutout, while the TRL Pro needs 9-3/8". The widths differ slightly too — 30-5/8" for a 32" Sizzler against 30-1/2" for a 32" TRL Pro. A Sizzler Pro is a straight swap for a Sizzler of the same size.
What stainless steel does Summerset use on each series?
The Sizzler and Sizzler Pro bodies are #443 stainless with a 16-gauge double-lined #443 hood. The TRL Pro body is #304 stainless. Burners are a separate question: #304 tube on the Sizzler and #202 cast on the Sizzler Pro. Summerset does not state the TRL Pro burner grade consistently — its spec table says cast stainless with no grade and its marketing copy says #304 — so we do not publish one.
Which Summerset grills include a rotisserie kit?
Only the TRL Pro, which ships with a 40 lb motor rotisserie kit. The Sizzler Pro has the infrared rear burner but the kit is a separate purchase, and the Sizzler has no rear burner at all.
How many burners does a Summerset TRL Pro 32 have?
Three main burners at 20,000 BTU each, plus a 15,000 BTU infrared rear burner — 75,000 BTU in total. That is fewer burners than the 4-burner Sizzler Pro 32 but more total output, because each burner is rated considerably higher.
Does the Summerset warranty differ between series?
No. The Gold Standard Lifetime Warranty is identical on the Sizzler, Sizzler Pro, TRL Pro and Resort: lifetime on construction, stainless steel, grates, burners, burner covers, valves, flame tamers, heat zone separators, temperature gauges and hood springs, and three years on other parts and electrical components. Registration within 30 days of purchase is required.
Are Summerset grills available in natural gas and propane?
Yes, every built-in in the range is offered in both fuels at the same price, selected as an option on the product page. Choose before you order — converting afterwards is not a simple swap.
Can I add an infrared sear burner to a Summerset grill?
Summerset makes a drop-in infrared sear burner (IRB-SZR) that replaces one main burner, and lists it as fitting the Sizzler and Sizzler Pro. It is not listed for the TRL Pro. None of these grills comes with a sear burner fitted from the factory.
Is the Sizzler Pro or the TRL Pro better value?
At 32" the TRL Pro is only $400 more than the Sizzler Pro and brings #304 construction, 20,000 BTU burners, square grates and an included rotisserie — a bigger gain per dollar than the $900 Sizzler-to-Sizzler-Pro step below it. The catch is the taller cutout, which matters if you are working with an existing opening.
What size opening does each Summerset grill need?
Sizzler and Sizzler Pro: 23-1/4" (25"), 30-5/8" (32") or 37-3/4" (40") wide, all 20-3/4" deep and 8" high. TRL Pro: 30-1/2" (32") or 38-1/2" (40") wide, 20-3/4" deep and 9-3/8" high. Resort 30": 28-1/2" × 23-1/4" × 10-1/4". Always confirm against Summerset’s current installation manual for your exact model before cutting.
Buying a Summerset grill from Northwoods Grills
Northwoods Grills is a family-owned outdoor kitchen retailer in Charleston, South Carolina, and an authorized Summerset dealer.
- Authorized dealer. Current-production units supplied through Summerset, so your Gold Standard warranty registration is valid.
- Full manufacturer warranty. The complete coverage set out above applies to every grill we ship.
- Free shipping. Included on Summerset grills, with no credit card fees on your order.
Being on the South Carolina coast, we get the 304-versus-443 question more than most, and we are happy to talk through whether your specific site needs it. Call 843-212-7209 with your island measurements, or browse the full Summerset built-in grill range and the complete Summerset collection.

