RCS Built-In Grills Buying Guide: Comparing the Cutlass Pro and Premier Series
RCS builds two established built-in lines — the Cutlass Pro and the Premier — plus the Cutlass Elite, added for 2026. The Cutlass Pro and Premier are genuinely different grills rather than two trim levels of one, and the difference that matters most is not on any spec sheet comparison you will find elsewhere: the two series need island openings that run in opposite directions relative to their model numbers.
Every figure below comes from RCS’s own owner’s manual, cutout sheet and product pages. Where RCS publishes nothing, or where two RCS documents disagree, this page says so instead of filling the gap.
Read this before you cut the island
RCS model numbers do not tell you the opening, and the error runs both ways depending on which series you buy:
| Series | Model | Cutout width | Versus the model number |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cutlass Pro | RON30A / RON30B | 33" | 3" wider |
| Cutlass Pro | RON38A / RON38B | 41¼" | 3¼" wider |
| Cutlass Pro | RON42A / RON42B | 45" | 3" wider |
| Premier | RJC26A | 23½" | 2½" narrower |
| Premier | RJC32A / RJC32AL | 30⁵⁄₈" | 1₃⁄₈" narrower |
| Premier | RJC40A / RJC40AL | 37¾" | 2¼" narrower |
Size a Premier opening using the Cutlass Pro pattern and you cut the hole up to two and a half inches too wide. Size a Cutlass Pro opening from its model number and you cut it three inches too small. Both are expensive in stone, and neither is recoverable.
Cutout height is the other trap. The Cutlass Pro needs 11" of height; the Premier needs 8¼". That is nearly three inches, and it is the dimension that most often rules out a replacement in an existing island. Cutout depth for the Cutlass Pro is 20".
One honest caveat on Premier depth: RCS’s owner’s manual and its own cutout sheet disagree for the RJC26A, RJC32A and RJC32AL — the manual prints 21" and 20¾", the cutout sheet and the product pages print 21¼" and 21". We are not going to pick one for you. Widths and heights are consistent across all three RCS sources; for those depths, confirm against the installation manual that ships with your grill, or call us and we will check with RCS. The RJC40A and RJC40AL are consistent at 21".
Our cutout dimensions reference collects the published figures across every brand we carry.
RCS Cutlass Pro (RON series)
The Cutlass Pro is the heavier of the two lines: 304 stainless construction, a ceramic infrared rear burner on every model, LED control-panel lighting, dual internal halogen lights, and a rotisserie kit included rather than sold separately.
| Model | Main burners | Main BTU | Rear burner | Total BTU | Cutout W × D × H |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RON30B (30") | 3 cast stainless | 18,000 each — 54,000 | 12,500 BTU ceramic infrared | 66,500 | 33" × 20" × 11" |
| RON38B (38") | 4 cast stainless | 18,000 each — 72,000 | 12,500 BTU ceramic infrared | 84,500 | 41¼" × 20" × 11" |
| RON42B (42") | 4 cast stainless | 18,000 each — 72,000 | 12,500 BTU ceramic infrared | 84,500 | 45" × 20" × 11" |
Note that the 38" and the 42" have the same burner count and the same BTU output. The 42" buys you four more inches of width, not more heat. If BTU is what you are shopping on, the 38" is the efficient buy in this series — a point worth reading alongside how many BTUs you actually need.
The A and B suffix, which nobody explains
You will see both RON30A and RON30B. RCS does not state anywhere what the suffix means, but its published specifications differ in one respect that matters: the A models are 15,000 BTU per burner and the B models are 18,000. Burner counts, cutouts and cooking surfaces are unchanged, and the insulated liners are sold for both suffixes together. If you are comparing a listing elsewhere against ours, check which suffix it is before comparing BTU.
What RCS does not publish for the Cutlass Pro
Worth knowing, because other sites publish it anyway:
- Cooking area. RCS states the Cutlass Pro cooking surface as the nominal model width by 20 inches — “42" wide x 20" deep” for the RON42B. A 42-inch grate cannot physically sit inside a 45-inch cutout with the required clearance, so that is an envelope figure, not a measured grate. You will see 600, 760 and 840 square inches quoted from it. We do not publish those, because RCS has not measured a grate for us.
- Grate profile. RCS says “stainless steel cooking grids” and never states rod, square or round.
- Overall dimensions. Not published for any model in either series.
RCS Premier (RJC series)
The Premier is the value line, and it is a real grill rather than a stripped one — stainless tubular burners, briquette flavour grids, solid stainless grates and a warming rack throughout, with a ceramic infrared rear burner on everything except the 26".
| Model | Main burners | Main BTU | Rear burner | Total BTU | Main grate | Total cooking area | Cutout W × H |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RJC26A (26") | 3 stainless tubular | 12,000 each — 36,000 | None | 36,000 | 22¾" × 18" | 546 sq in | 23½" × 8¼" |
| RJC32AL (32") | 4 stainless tubular | 12,000 each — 48,000 | 12,000 BTU ceramic infrared | 60,000 | 30¼" × 18" | 710 sq in | 30⁵⁄₈" × 8¼" |
| RJC40AL (40") | 5 stainless tubular | 12,000 each — 60,000 | 12,000 BTU ceramic infrared | 72,000 | 37½" × 18" | 906 sq in | 37¾" × 8¼" |
The Premier is the series where RCS publishes a real measured grate and a separate stated total, which makes it the easier of the two to compare honestly against other brands. The gap between the two figures is the warming rack: 546 against 409.5 square inches of main grate on the 26", 710 against 544.5 on the 32", 906 against 675 on the 40". RCS does not say in words that the total includes the rack, but the arithmetic scales correctly with size across all three.
That distinction matters whenever you compare cooking areas between brands — some publish main grate only, some publish grate plus warming rack, and the two are not interchangeable.
The L suffix
RJC32AL and RJC40AL add blue LED lighting and dual internal halogen lights. The plain RJC32A and RJC40A list no lighting at all. That is the entire difference RCS publishes between the suffixes.
What RCS does not publish for the Premier
- A numeric stainless grade. RCS describes the Premier as “premium grade stainless steel housing” and never states 304 or any other number. You will find the Premier listed as 304 in plenty of places, including, until recently, on this page. It is not something RCS publishes, so we no longer state it. The Cutlass Pro is stated as 304 on RCS’s own product pages.
- The hood construction. RCS describes the Cutlass Pro hood as double-lined and says nothing about the Premier hood.
- A rotisserie as standard. RCS does not list a rotisserie kit in the Premier specification, where the Cutlass Pro includes one. A kit is available separately for the 32-inch — RCS RJC32ROTIS — so it is a separate purchase rather than an omission. Ask us about the other sizes.
Cutlass Pro vs Premier: what actually separates them
| Cutlass Pro (RON) | Premier (RJC) | |
|---|---|---|
| Burner type | Cast stainless | Stainless tubular |
| BTU per burner | 18,000 (B models) | 12,000 |
| Rear burner | Ceramic infrared, 12,500 BTU, every model | Ceramic infrared, 12,000 BTU, all except the 26" |
| Rotisserie kit | Included — motor, spit, forks and fittings | Separate purchase; RJC32ROTIS kit available for the 32" |
| Construction grade | 304 stainless, stated by RCS | “Premium grade stainless” — no number stated |
| Hood | Double-lined | Not published by RCS |
| Panel lighting | Blue LED, standard | Only on the L models |
| Interior lighting | Dual internal halogen, standard | Only on the L models |
| Burner covers | Briquette trays | Briquette flavour grids |
| Published cooking area | Nominal envelope only — no measured grate | Measured grate and stated total |
| Cutout height | 11" | 8¼" |
| Cutout vs model number | 3" wider | 1₃⁄₈" to 2½" narrower |
Which one fits your kitchen?
The Cutlass Pro is the choice if you want the rotisserie without buying it separately, want lighting as standard, or want the stated 304 construction. Its cast burners and higher per-burner output suit someone who sears often.
The Premier is the choice if you want cooking capacity per dollar and are happy to skip the rotisserie and the lighting. The 40" gives you five burners and 906 square inches for well under what a Cutlass Pro costs, and RCS publishes a real grate figure for it, which is more than the Cutlass Pro offers.
If your island already exists, the cutout height may decide this for you before anything else does. An 8¼-inch opening will not take a Cutlass Pro.
Current pricing is on each product page — browse all RCS built-in grills.
What about the Cutlass Elite?
RCS added a third built-in line for 2026, sitting above both of these: the redesigned Cutlass Elite CEG30 and CEG38, which add Searmarx grids, colour-changing knob lighting and a lifetime parts warranty. Note that the Elite shares the Cutlass Pro’s openings — RCS sells one insulated liner for the CEG30 and RON30A/B together, and another for the CEG38 and RON38A/B — so if you are choosing between Elite and Pro, the island does not need to change. Worth a look before you settle on a Cutlass Pro.
We also compare the Elite against American Outdoor Grills in AOG L-Series vs T-Series vs RCS Cutlass Elite.
Insulated liners: part numbers and the revised cutout
RCS’s owner’s manual is unambiguous: “In the event of an installation in a combustible (wooden) cabinet, you must use an insulated jacket available from RCS.” The liner is an island component, not part of the grill, and it enlarges the opening — RCS publishes the revised figure, which many brands do not:
| Fits | Liner part number | Liner cutout W × D × H |
|---|---|---|
| RON30A / RON30B / CEG30 | LJRON30 | 35½" × 21¼" × 11¾" |
| RON38A / RON38B / CEG38 | LJRON38 | 43⁵⁄₈" × 21¼" × 12¼" |
| RON42B | LJRON42 | 47½" × 21¼" × 11¾" |
| RJC32A / RJC32AL | LJRJC32 | 33" × 22" × 9⁵⁄₈" |
| RJC40A / RJC40AL | LJRJC40 | 40½" × 22" × 9¼" |
| RJC26A | LJRJC26 | Not published by RCS |
Budget roughly two and a half inches of extra width and an inch of extra depth if you are framing in wood. Decide before the island is built, not after the countertop is cut. More in do you need an insulating grill liner.
One oddity we will flag rather than smooth over: RCS publishes the LJRON38 liner cutout as 12¼" tall while the LJRON30 and LJRON42 are 11¾", even though all three grills need the same 11" opening. That is RCS’s published figure. If you are building to it, call us and we will confirm it with RCS first.
Using an RCS built-in head on a cart
RCS publishes freestanding carts for its built-in heads, so a Cutlass Pro or Premier does not have to go into an island: RONMC for the 30" Cutlass Elite and Pro, RONKC for the 38", and RJCLC for the 40" Premier. RCS also sells combination SKUs such as RON42B CK and RJC32A CK. If you want a cart for a size not listed here, ask us — RCS’s cart catalogue is larger than its website shows at once. More on that choice in built-in vs freestanding grills.
Common questions
What cutout does an RCS grill need?
It depends on the series, and the two run in opposite directions. Cutlass Pro: RON30 takes 33", RON38 takes 41¼", RON42 takes 45", all 20" deep and 11" tall. Premier: RJC26A takes 23½", RJC32A takes 30⁵⁄₈", RJC40A takes 37¾", all 8¼" tall. Never size an RCS opening from the model number.
Is the RCS Premier made of 304 stainless steel?
RCS does not say. It describes the Premier as “premium grade stainless steel housing” without stating a number, so we do not publish one. The Cutlass Pro is stated as 304 stainless on RCS’s own product pages. If the grade matters to your decision, our guide to stainless grades explains what it does and does not tell you.
What is the difference between RON30A and RON30B?
RCS publishes 15,000 BTU per burner for the A models and 18,000 for the B models. Burner counts, cutouts and cooking surfaces are the same, and the same insulated liner fits both. RCS does not state what the suffix itself denotes.
Does the RCS Premier come with a rotisserie?
Not as standard. RCS does not list a rotisserie in the Premier specification, though a kit is sold separately for the 32-inch (RJC32ROTIS). The Cutlass Pro includes one — motor, spit, forks and fittings — with the grill.
Can I replace a Premier with a Cutlass Pro in the same island?
Almost certainly not without modifying the opening, and height is the reason. The Premier needs 8¼" of cutout height and the Cutlass Pro needs 11". The widths do not line up either. If you are replacing a grill, start from the opening you have — our replacement grill finder works that way round.
How big is the RCS Cutlass Pro cooking surface?
RCS does not publish a measured grate area for the Cutlass Pro. It states the cooking surface as the nominal model width by 20 inches, which is an envelope rather than a grate — a 42-inch grate would not fit inside a 45-inch cutout. Figures like 600, 760 and 840 square inches are derived from that and we do not publish them. RCS does publish measured grate dimensions for the Premier.
Talk it through
If you are deciding between these two series, or checking whether one fits an island you already have, call 843-212-7209. We are an authorized RCS dealer, so we work from the installation documents and we will tell you when RCS has not published something rather than guessing on your behalf.
Browse RCS built-in grills, or start with our grill finder.
Sources
All specifications are from RCS’s own owner’s manual (rev 3.25.24), its published cut-out dimensions sheet, and its product pages on rcsgasgrills.com. Where those documents disagree with each other — as they do on Premier cutout depth — both values are named and neither is presented as settled. Where RCS publishes no figure, this page says so rather than borrowing one from elsewhere.

