AOG L-Series vs T-Series vs RCS Cutlass Elite

AOG L-Series vs T-Series vs RCS Cutlass Elite: Which $4,000 Grill Wins

The AOG T-Series is the better choice for buyers who do not want to run electricity to the grill bay. The AOG L-Series is the same grill with interior halogen lights and battery-free electronic ignition, and it needs a 120V AC supply to work as designed — that single difference is what separates the two model lines and what drives the price gap. The RCS Cutlass Elite, new for 2026, is the pick when you want the highest published burner output and interior and exterior lighting in one head. At the 30-inch size the three land at $3,539, $4,568 and $4,399, so this is a real three-way decision rather than a formality.

Prices verified 30 August 2026. Prices change — check the product page for current pricing.

The short version

All three are 304 stainless built-in grill heads intended to be dropped permanently into an island. All three are orderable in natural gas or propane. None of them is a cart grill, and none of them will fit an opening you have not measured first. Where they genuinely differ is lighting, ignition, electrical requirement, burner output, cut-out size and warranty structure — and those six things, not brand loyalty, should decide this.

Verified comparison

Every figure below comes from the product title or the spec fields on that product's own page. Where our two sources disagree, we say so rather than picking the flattering number. Cooking-area figures are not comparable across brands: the AOG numbers are main grilling area only, while the RCS figures are the total surface quoted in the model title, so do not read the RCS number as a bigger grate.

Model Price Burners Main burner output Cooking area Lights Cut-out W × H × D Material
AOG T-Series 24" AOG24TN $3,115 2 32,000 BTU 432 sq in main None 24.5" × 8.5" × 19.5" 304 stainless
AOG L-Series 24" AOG24LN $4,088 2 + rear burner 32,000 BTU 432 sq in main Interior 24.5" × 8.5" × 19.5" 304 stainless
AOG T-Series 30" AOG30TN $3,539 3 45,000 BTU 540 sq in main None 30.5" × 8.5" × 19.5" 304 stainless
AOG L-Series 30" AOG30LN $4,568 3 + rear burner 45,000 BTU (see note) 540 sq in main Interior 30.5" × 8.5" × 19.5" 304 stainless
AOG T-Series 36" AOG36TN $3,351.60 Not stated (see note) 50,000 BTU 648 sq in main None 36.75" × 8.5" × 19.5" 304 stainless
AOG L-Series 36" AOG36LN $4,775 3 + rear burner 50,000 BTU 648 sq in main Interior 36.75" × 8.5" × 19.5" 304 stainless
RCS Cutlass Elite 30" CEG30 $4,399 3 60,000 BTU 600 sq in (title, basis not stated) Interior & exterior 33.0" × 11.0" × 20.0" 304 stainless
RCS Cutlass Elite 38" CEG38 $4,999 4 80,000 BTU 760 sq in (title, basis not stated) Interior & exterior 41.25" × 11.0" × 20.0" 304 stainless

Note on the AOG 30" L-Series output. The product title carries 57,000 BTU, while the grill's own spec field and the manufacturer's figure are 45,000 BTU. We use 45,000. The 30" T-Series shares the same firebox, the same 540 sq in main grilling area and the same 45,000 BTU rating, which is exactly why we do not believe the higher title figure. Confirm the spec sheet before you plan gas line sizing.

Note on the AOG 36" T-Series burner count. The title says three burners and the spec field says four. We have left the cell blank rather than guess. Confirm the spec sheet if burner count is decisive for you; the 50,000 BTU total and 648 sq in main grilling area are consistent across both sources.

The propane versions are separate orderable models. The AOG T-Series 30" propane AOG30TP is $3,539, the same as natural gas, and the L-Series 30" propane AOG30LP is $4,568. At 36 inches the two fuels are not priced alike: the T-Series 36" propane AOG36TP is $3,724 against $3,351.60 for natural gas. If you have not settled the fuel question, read the natural gas and propane grills FAQs before you order, because fuel type is set when the grill is built.

What actually matters

1. Whether you have 120V at the grill bay

This is the whole L-Series versus T-Series decision. The T-Series lights with a Rapid Light piezo ignition and has no lighting package, so it needs no electricity and no batteries. The L-Series adds interior halogen lights and a battery-free electronic ignition, and it requires a 120V AC supply. If your island has no power run to it and pouring or coring a conduit path is not on the table, the T-Series is not a compromise — it is the correct product. If the electrician is already on site, the L-Series premium buys lighting you will use every winter evening. Electrical work belongs to a licensed professional working to the manufacturer's installation manual and local code.

2. Cut-out, not nominal width

The three grills need materially different openings. AOG's 30-inch head wants a 30.5" × 8.5" × 19.5" cut-out. The RCS Cutlass Elite 30 wants 33.0" × 11.0" × 20.0" — three inches wider and two and a half inches taller for the same nominal size. A 38-inch Cutlass Elite needs 41.25 inches of opening. This is the single most common way a grill purchase goes wrong, and it is covered in detail on our built-in grill cut-out dimensions guide. If you are replacing an existing head in a finished island, start at the replacement grill cut-out finder instead of the size collections.

3. Warranty structure, read line by line

AOG publishes the more legible warranty of the three: lifetime coverage on stainless housings and burners, 15 years on the Diamond Sear cooking grids, 10 years on valves, controls and manifolds, 3 years on back burners and rotisserie components, and 2 years on ignition and electronics. Note that the parts most likely to fail on an L-Series — ignition and electronics — carry the shortest term, which is a reasonable argument for the T-Series if you plan to keep the grill for twenty years.

RCS publishes lifetime-of-original-owner coverage on Cutlass Pro and American Renaissance, 15 years on the Premier series, 7 years on refrigeration and 1 year on everything else. RCS does not publish a warranty duration for the Cutlass Elite. We are not going to infer one from the Cutlass Pro terms. If warranty length is decisive for you, ask us to get it in writing from RCS before you order, or request a quote and we will chase it.

4. Where the grill is made

American Outdoor Grills products are engineered, fabricated and assembled in the USA. We make no manufacturing-origin claim for RCS, because RCS does not support one. If domestic manufacture is a requirement rather than a preference, the AOG lines qualify and the shortlist on our best American-made built-in grills page is where to look next.

Choose the AOG T-Series if…

The AOG T-Series is the better choice for buyers who want AOG build quality without running power to the island. This is the right grill for a homeowner retrofitting a masonry island built in 2005 that has a gas stub and nothing else; for a coastal second home where the owner would rather have one fewer electrical component sitting in salt air; and for anyone who does 90% of their cooking before dark and cannot justify $1,029 for halogen lights at the 30-inch size. You keep the same 304 stainless housing, the same burners, the same lifetime housing and burner coverage and the same cut-out as the L-Series. At $3,351.60 for the 36-inch natural gas model, it is also the cheapest way into an American-made 36-inch head we list.

Choose the AOG L-Series if…

The AOG L-Series is the better choice for buyers who cook after dark and are already running electricity to the island. This is the grill for the household that entertains on Friday and Saturday evenings year-round; for a new-build outdoor kitchen where the electrician is scheduled anyway for refrigeration and task lighting; and for anyone who wants a rear burner and rotisserie in the same purchase rather than as an afterthought. The interior halogen lights and the battery-free electronic ignition are the entire premium — there is no hidden metallurgy upgrade — and that is a fair trade if you will use them. Add the AOG rotisserie kit at $224 and the 30" built-in grill vinyl cover at $143.

Choose the RCS Cutlass Elite if…

The RCS Cutlass Elite is the better choice for buyers who want maximum published output and exterior control-panel lighting, and who are building the island around the grill. This suits a homeowner starting from bare ground with no cut-out constraint, someone cooking for large groups who wants 60,000 BTU at 30 inches or 80,000 BTU at 38 inches, and anyone who wants lit knobs as well as a lit firebox so the control panel is readable without a phone torch. It is the wrong choice if you are dropping into an existing 30.5-inch opening, because the Cutlass Elite 30 needs 33 inches. It is also the wrong choice if you want a published warranty term in hand before you buy. The RCS Cutlass Pro 30 RON30B at $4,199 is the alternative if lifetime-of-original-owner coverage matters more to you than the Elite's newer design.

Short FAQ

Is the L-Series a better-built grill than the T-Series?

No. Both are 304 stainless with the same cut-out, the same main grilling area and the same burner output at every size we list. The L-Series adds interior lighting and electronic ignition and requires 120V. That is the difference.

Can I run an L-Series without power?

Treat it as no. The lighting and the ignition system are specified around a 120V AC supply. Follow the manufacturer's installation manual and have a licensed electrician confirm the supply before the head is set.

Does the higher RCS BTU figure mean it cooks better?

Not by itself. BTU is fuel consumption, not searing performance, and the three grills use different burner designs and different grate systems. Use BTU to size the gas line with your installer, not to rank grills.

Do any of these need an insulating liner?

Only if the surround is combustible. A wood-framed island needs one; masonry generally does not. RCS publishes a matching insulating liner jacket for the 30" Cutlass Elite and Cutlass Pro at $799. Our do I need an insulating grill liner page walks through the decision, and the insulating grill liner FAQs cover fitment. Defer to the installation manual, local code and a licensed professional.

What about a matching side burner?

The RCS Cutlass Elite double side burner CDB1EL is $799 and shares the Elite trim. AOG's T-Series double side burner AOG2SBT is $1,503 and the L-Series version AOG2SBL is $1,640. See the side burner FAQs before committing island width to one.

Final recommendation

Buy the AOG T-Series 30" at $3,539 unless you already have power at the island. It is the most grill per dollar of the three, it is American-made, and it removes the component category with the shortest warranty term. Buy the AOG L-Series 30" at $4,568 if the electrician is already booked and you cook after dark — the lights and the rear burner are worth the difference to an evening entertainer and to nobody else. Buy the RCS Cutlass Elite 30" at $4,399 only if your island is not yet built, because its 33-inch cut-out will not retrofit an AOG-sized opening, and only if you are comfortable ordering without a published Elite warranty term.

Still deciding? Browse the full 30-inch built-in grills and 36-inch built-in grills ranges, or the built-in grills from $3,500 to $5,000. If you want a shortlist built around your island rather than around a brand, use help me find my grill, read the general built-in grill FAQs, the American Outdoor Grills FAQs and the RCS built-in grill FAQs, or call us on 843-212-7209. Every grill on this page ships free with no credit card surcharge, and matching grill covers and grill liners can be added to the same order. If you are pricing the whole build rather than the grill alone, the outdoor kitchen cost guide and the outdoor kitchen appliance checklist are the next two things to read, and best built-in grills under $5,000 and best premium built-in grills widen the field either side of this price band.